Merger of the Princely States of Odisha

Elections for the Odisha Provincial Legislative Assembly were held in the post-war scenario, with the congress winning a majority. On 3 April 1946, Harekrushna Mahatab was appointed Prime Minister. That year, the Cabinet Mission visited India, and Mahatab assured them that he would bring the issue of the merger of the ‘garajat’ states with the …

Read moreMerger of the Princely States of Odisha

The Prajamandal Movement

During British rule, Odisha’s princely or indigenous states possessed sovereign power. The kings of these areas gradually became repressive. Exploitation and repression became a hallmark of all indigenous states. The populace was exploited through a variety of taxation methods, including ‘Rasad’, ‘Magan’, ‘Bethi’, and ‘Begari’. Finally, when the people’s exploitation became intolerable, they were seized …

Read moreThe Prajamandal Movement

British relation with Princely States of Odisha

By 1948-49, the Feudatory States, also known as Native States, Princely States, Garhjat States, or Tributary Mahals, numbered twenty-six. These feudatory states were classified into three categories: Central Odisha states: Angul, Athgarh, Athmallik, Banki, Baudh, Baramba, Daspalla, Dhenkanal, Hindol, Khandapara Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Narasirnhapur, Nayagarh, Nilgiri, Pal Lahara, Talcher, Tigria, and Ranapur. In 1840 and 1847, …

Read moreBritish relation with Princely States of Odisha

error: Content is protected !!